On my reading list

Anyone who knows me well will attest to the fact that I love reading and I love making lists, so a summer reading list was pretty much inevitable. I started collating mine during exam season, probably during a bout of procrastination to be honest. Then, last weekend I was on The Guardian website and spotted their “Best holiday reads 2015” article where they asked people to divulge their summer reading lists and I thought putting my own admission up on here might be good.

Although I won’t be reading my choices on a beach, or even going on holiday at all this year, I think I prefer it that way because I like buying paperbacks and no way would all these fit in one suitcase!

To begin i’ll be revisiting some of my favourites, I like doing that when exams finish because then you feel reassured that you are going to enjoy your first foray into post exam literary exploration. Anyway, this year i’m choosing Brave New World by Aldous Huxley, to be followed closely by 1984 by George Orwell and We by Yevgeny Zamyatin. I do like a dose of dysotopia.

I’m also going to be reading some classic, yet controversial, works for the first time. The Devils by Fyodor Dostoyevsky, for example.

In order to appease my increasing interest in learning more about key figures from their very own works rather than the public opinion which surrounds them, I have chosen Bertrand Russell’s The Problems of Philosophy, Edward Herman’s Manufacturing Consent and Noam Chomsky’s Masters of Mankind: Essays and Lectures, 1969-2013. Just a bit of light reading, you know…

Maybe i’m being wildly optimistic to think that I can get through that lot during one summer, but I believe it’s definitely worth a good try. I can officially start to tick the pieces off once i’ve finished my current reads: The Language Instinct by Steven Pinker and Interpreter of Maladies by Jhumpa Lahiri (both are good, by the way!) – What do you all plan to read this summer?

Sidenote: I have included Amazon links for the books I mentioned, however I do want to recommend that you buy from your local bookshop (or at least try to) because supporting local booksellers is now more important than ever.

Edit: I actually have a few books to add to this list now that summer is drawing to a close. These are: Nausea by Jean-Paul Sartre, A Short History of Nearly Everything by Bill Bryson and Kafka on the Shore by Haruki Murakami. Enjoy!

This entry was posted in books and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

